Team Coco’s trio dominate Macedo memorial cycling podium

first_imgTEAM Coco’s Stephano Husbands, Hamzah Eastman and Mark Harris occupied the top three places respectively on the podium yesterday when the Flying Stars Cycle Club conducted its Annual Victor Macedo memorial 80-mile cycle road race.After a rolling start from outside the Macedo’s Queenstown residence at 07:30hrs, the large group comprising seniors, veterans, juniors, juveniles and mountain bikers were given the green flag on Homestretch Avenue from where the seniors and juniors proceeded to the Linden Highway before turning back at Long Creek to finish at the place of origin (Homestretch Avenue).However, the veterans’, juveniles and mountain bikers turned back at the Splashmin’s Resort, to finish at the same point as the seniors and juniors.After receiving the green flag, the entire bunch of seniors and juveniles along with a few veterans stuck together until they approached the turn unto the Linden Highway when Husbands, Harris, Raymond Newton, Silvio Inniss and Walter Grant-Stuart went on a break and led all the way for the remainder of the upward journey.However, on turning back, Eastman rode across the roadway and joined them and immediately opened a small gap which was subsequently closed.However, Grant-Stuart and Newton were then made to trail while the leading quartet (Husbands, Harris, Inniss and Eastman) maintained the lead as the turned from the East Bank Highway onto Mandela Avenue.Shortly after, the three Team Coco’s members accelerated and left Inniss struggling.As the three team members approached the finish line, they held their hands together in the air, signaling their team’s return to form,just when the 2016 cycling season was coming to a close.Husbands was the first to cross the finish line,in a time of three hours 11 minutes.He was followed by Eastman in second, and Harris in third.Inniss later crossed the finish line in a distant fourth, but was way ahead of the other four finishers, Grant-Stuart, Newton, Christopher Holder and Shaquile Agard.Another Team Coco’s member, Junior Niles, continued his good showing in recent weeks by winning the veterans’ under-45 age group ahead of Ralph Williams and Leer Nunes respectively. Niles’ winning time was two hours 19 minutes 16 seconds.Andre Spencer was first among the veterans over 45 years, while Oziah McAullay was first among the mountain bikers. Second was Julio Melville and finishing third was Sean Budhan.Adealie Hodge won the juvenile category ahead of Zaman Khan.The junior category was won by Raphael Leung in a time of three hours, 17 minutes 25.56 seconds.Christopher Cornelius, Daraj Garbarran and Curtis Dey occupied the other top three places respectively.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>