Dena Freeman-Patton Named Chair of NCAA’s Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee

first_imgDirector of Athletics Tim Duncan echoed Freeman-Patton’s excitement. “Dena Freeman-Patton is a transcendent leader within Intercollegiate Athletics and we are very fortunate that she is a member of #NOLAsTeam. She has been recognized for her impactful leadership numerous times, including this most recent appointment as chair of the NCAA’s Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee. She was an integral member of the committee that recently authored groundbreaking legislation, which led to all NCAA member institutions having to name an Athletics Diversity and Inclusion Designee by August 1, 2020. I am extremely proud of her, her many accomplishments, and look forward to seeing the results of her term as the Chair of the MOIC Committee.” “It has been extremely rewarding to serve on the MOIC Committee for the past three years with wonderful colleagues from all divisions,” said Freeman-Patton. “I look forward to serving the association as Chair starting September 2020, during my final year. We will continue the momentum of the ADID legislation and work to make collegiate athletics a more inclusion environment for our student-athletes.” Courtesy of University of New Orleans AthleticsNEW ORLEANS, La. – New Orleans Deputy Athletic Director/Chief Operating Officer Dena Freeman-Patton was recently appointed chair of the NCAA’s Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee (MOIC), a year-long designation. Freeman-Patton is in her first season on the Lakefront and is an executive staff member, overseeing facilities, capital projects, equipment and sports medicine while also serving as the sport administrator for men’s basketball. Named 2018 Administrator of the Year by Women Leaders in College Sports (WLCS), she is also actively involved with the Minority Opportunities Athletic Association (MOAA) and the Emerging Administrators Academy.last_img read more

Junior achievements

first_img AD Quality Auto 360p 720p 1080p Top articles1/5READ MOREBasketball roundup: Sierra Canyon, Birmingham set to face off in tournament quarterfinalsThe award for volunteering the most hours – 600 since she joined the organization – went to Stacie Lomibao, who was also the Junior Volunteer president. Also honored were more than 50 other graduating seniors, who are aiming at careers ranging from pediatrics and nursing to accounting and the entertainment industry. The Junior Volunteer organization started in 1958, three years after the hospital opened, with a handful of teens. It grew to 80 by 1984, and has more than doubled in size since then. The outgoing officers, besides Lomibao, were vice president Anthony Lim, treasurer Glecy Baquirin, secretary Erica Macaranas, senator Heather O’Gara, public relations officer Phebe Gibson, and area coordinator Lia Bonamassa. Incoming officers are O’Gara as president, vice president Ryan Tripoli, treasurer Alex Lim, secretary Lauren Stoll, senator Vanessa Castillo, public relations officer Jasmin Bascos and area coordinator Ana Bonamassa. LANCASTER – Antelope Valley Hospital honored nearly 170 teenagers who together volunteered more than 12,000 hours over the last 12 months. The Junior Volunteers work in more than 20 areas of the hospital, helping staffers and patients while learning about medical careers. “Teens volunteer twice as much as we adults do,” said Mary Theobald, the hospital’s Volunteer Services director. “It’s on the increase over the past 10 years.” With a Hollywood theme of “Stars of the Future,” the May 10 appreciation banquet provided a sendoff for the outgoing Junior Volunteers officers and installation of the 2006-07 officers. The Junior Volunteers presented gifts totalling $1,920 to five hospital departments from funds raised by the organization this year. The gifts included baby slings for mothers to carry their newborns, educational videotapes, and a projector. Also at the banquet, the Antelope Valley Hospital Auxiliary, the organization for adult volunteers, presented 15 scholarships for $1,000 each to students aiming for health careers. The hospital provided $5,000 of the scholarship funds. Scholarships went to Eredira Aldana, Rohit Choudhary, Jason Dunkel, Dustin Hang, Pinky Kurani, Anthony Lim, Samantha Liu, Stacie Lomibao, Kristianne Meisels, Anish Parmar, Neal Patel, Jelisa Roberts, Prapti Singh, Abhya Singla and Rajat Suri.160Want local news?Sign up for the Localist and stay informed Something went wrong. Please try again.subscribeCongratulations! You’re all set!last_img read more