2 NegOcc groups ink MOA for cash aid use

first_imgBACOLODCity – Two volunteer rescue groups in this region have separately signed anagreement with the Office of Civil Defense in Western Visayas (OCD-6) for theuse of P300,000 cash incentive each received as among the winners of the 21stGawad Kalasag. Therecipient would also be needed to submit a project proposal, including otherpertinent documents needed for infrastructure projects or procurement ofvehicle or equipment, as well as maintain a separate book of accounts for thefund, issue an official receipt, and create a team responsible for the projectimplementation. The GawadKalasag (KAlamidad at Sakuna LAbanan,SAriling Galing ang Kaligtasan), organized by the Department of NationalDefense-OCD and the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council,recognizes the exemplary efforts in empowering communities to be capacitatedand disaster-resilient.(With a reportfrom PNA/PN) The otherMOA inked by Nuñez was with Kami Sunoi Inc. forefounder Patrick Mabag at theNegros Occidental Provincial Capitol Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson acted as thewitness.The Amity group was named as the Western Visayas’ top winner and Hall of Fameawardee under the Volunteer Organization category, while the Kami Sunoi Inc.was the winner of the Best People’s Organization during the national awardingceremony held at the Philippine International Convention Center in Pasay Citylast December. “Therecipient shall utilize the incentive only for the implementation of programs,activities, and projects aligned with the National Disaster Risk Reduction andManagement Plan, Local Climate Action Plan, Philippine Development Plan, SendaiFramework for Disaster Risk Reduction and Sustainable Development Goals,” theMOA said. OCD-6regional director Jose Roberto Nuñez signed the MOA on behalf of the agencywith AVFB fire chief Mike Gorne in rites held at the Bacolod City GovernmentCenter, in the presence of Mayor Evelio Leonardia on Feb18. A copy ofthe uniform memorandum of agreement (MOA) obtained by the Philippine NewsAgency from the OCD-6 on Feb. 20 showed the two groups as the Amity VolunteerFire Brigade (AVFB) of this city and the Kami Sunoi (Kami ang Mabulig sa Inyo Saligan Utod Ninyo sa Oras sang Ital-ItalInc.) from Binalbagan, Negros Occidental.last_img read more

Lady Cardinals 5th, 6th, 7th, And 8th Grade Hoops Results

first_imgThe St. Louis 5th Grade Girls Basketball team took to the floor Monday night against St. Michael’s in Brookville. They continued to improve and all gave great effort throughout the game, but came up short losing 20 to 13 taking their record to 0-2.Leading scorers for St. Louis were Veronica King with 9 points and Lucy Abplanalp with 4 points.The 5th Grade Lady Cardinals are back in action again Monday, January 29 at St. Lawrence in Lawrenceburg.Courtesy of Cardinals Coach Rob King.The St Louis Cardinals 6th grade girls basketball team were defeated by the St. Michael Trojans tonight by a score of 24-14.Scoring for the Cardinals were Rhea Miller, Catherine Streator, Isabel Fitzgerald and Claire Saner. With the loss, the Cardinals record drops to 1-1 on the season.The Lady Cardinals will travel to St. Lawrence next Monday night to face the Lady Panthers. Game time is immediately following the 5th grade girls game which starts at 6:00pm.Courtesy of Cardinals Coach Ryan Schebler.Last night, The St. Louis Lady Cardinals hosted their first home game of the season.  We came out with wins for both games.The 7th Grade Girls ended with a final score of 22-20.Scoring for SLS were Megan Bauer with 14pts, Ella Smith with 4pts, and Teresa Wanstrath and Ryanna Phillips both with 2pts each.  We were able to get some turnovers after a made basket that gained us many points.  Way to hold the lead and come out on top ladies.The 8th Grade Girls won with a final score of 31-15.We started off the first half slow.  But after the half they found their groove again and brought home the win.  Scoring for us were Emma Weberding with 12pts, Faith Tekulve with 5pts, and Alyssa Wanstrath, Ava Allen, and Chelsea Robertson all had 4pts each.  We had some great defense and hustle by all.  Good job ladies.Courtesy of Cardinals Coach Erin Trenkamp.last_img read more

Industry stalwarts to be felicitated during XIA 2019

first_imgBengaluru will host the XIA 2019 Decennial Celebrations of St Xavier’s College Alumni Association (SXCCAA) – South Chapter, on August 31, 2019, at Hotel Taj West End, 9:30 am onwards.This meet is being organised to provide a platform where senior alumni along with distinguished leaders and thought provocateurs can meet the millennial generation to help, mentor and guide them. Distinguish CXOs’ from various industries and renowned celebrities from the field of music, media and entertainment, film and sports will be sharing their experience during ‘XAV.biz’ and ‘XIA 2019’. Also Read – An income drop can harm brainThe event also aims to unite and support ‘Chapter’s Philanthropic Mission’ and activities related to SXC Raghavpur Philanthropic Campus, St Joseph’s College (Autonomous) Bangalore – Mid day meal initiative for needy students, Support for the Orphan Education and Street Girl Child Education support and a lot more. The daylong event shall feature various segments as the XAV.biz A Business & Networking forum to interact and exchange ideas which is open to all. Also Read – Shallu Jindal honoured with Mahatma AwardSome of the keynote speakers at the program shall be Sanjeev Sanyal – Principal Economic Adviser MoF India Govt; D Roopa Moudgil, IPS – IGP Karnataka Police; J C Sharma – VC & MD Sobha; Pt Bickram Ghosh – Tabla Maestro and Composer; Biren Ghose – Country Head, Technicolor; and Dr Gopichand Katragadda – Founder and CEO at Myelin Foundry, Past Group CTO, Tata Sons. Highlight of the evening shall be first XIA-2019 Global Excellence Awards to be bestowed on 12 individuals who have excelled in the fields of Economics, Corporate Leadership, Digital Innovation, Global Music, Visionary Education & Hospitality Industry, Next-Gen Entrepreneurship, Excellence in Science & Innovation, Performing Arts & Music, Journalism, Film Making, Outstanding Alumni and Public Relation & Philanthropic Activity, followed by musical odyssey by Pop Band Krosswindz, led by alumni and lead guitarist Vikramjit ‘Tuki’ Banerjee. Chief guest on the occasion shall be Rev Dr Dominic Savio, S.J., SXCCAA President along with Sanjib Koner, Secretary of SXCCAA, Rev Dr Fr Victor Lobo , S.J. Principal St. Joseph’s College, Bangalore.The proceedings shall be moderated by Snehasis Sur, President, Calcutta Press Club.last_img read more