President insists Government will not topple

“Some people are saying that this Government will not last long. Some are saying this Government can be toppled soon. Do not expect a new Government before 2020,” the President asserted. He said that the National Government has come under attack from day one from various elements and allegations have also been raised against him and the Prime Minister.The President said that he has no intention of responding to some of the allegations and he thanked the SLFP and UNP members who agreed to work together in a National Government. (Colombo Gazette) President Maithripala Sirisena says he expects the National Government to stay in power for five years despite the allegations being raised against him and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.Speaking at a ceremony held to appoint new State and Deputy Ministers today, the President said that he has faith in the new Government and does not think anyone will be able to shake it. The President said that he took office and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and the new Ministers took office not with the expectation of achieving an easy target. read more

West Indies bat first after delayed start

Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)RelatedPREVIEW: West Indies T20 superstars take on England in today’s World Cup finalsApril 3, 2016In “Sports”World Cup ‘firsts’ still vivid for West Indies hero LloydFebruary 20, 2019In “latest news”Lewis, Joseph denied by England’s late DLS dashSeptember 27, 2017In “Sports” West Indies won the toss and decided to bat against EnglandUmpires and players inspect conditions Getty Images(ESPNcricinfo) West Indies opted to bat first in the opening one-day international at Old Trafford with the match trimmed to 42 overs per side due to a damp outfield.It means Chris Gayle’s ODI career will resume with bat in hand as he makes his first appearance in the format since the 2015 World Cup. Shai Hope, the star of the Test series, will take the keeping gloves having not been part of the T20 squad while two spinners – Ashley Nurse and Devendra Bishoo – have been included.England confirmed yesterday that Jonny Bairstow would open the batting. Chris Woakes and David Willey have been chosen ahead of Jake Ball and Tom Curran as part of the pace attack.Having inspected at 1pm – half an hour after the scheduled start – the officials, Tim Robinson and Simon Fry, opted to look again at 2pm and better news emerged when they decided the match would start at 2.30pm. The main problem areas had been around the edge of the square where the covers would stop.West Indies had been unhappy with conditions during the T20I at Chester-le-Street after rain towards the end of England’s which made the outfield very slippery. The T20 captain, Carlos Brathwaite, said the match had come close to being called off after Chadwick Walton, the wicketkeeper, had suffered a nasty slip behind the stumps.England 1 Alex Hales, 2 Jonny Bairstow, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Woakes, 9 Adil Rashid, 10 Liam Plunkett, 11 David WilleyWest Indies 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Shai Hope (wk), 4 Marlon Samuels, 5 Jason Mohammad, 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Jason Holder (capt), 8 Ashley Nurse, 9 Devendra Bishoo, 10 Jerome Taylor, 11 Keswick Williams read more