Former Prisons Commissioner and Police IP further remanded

They were placed in remand and when the case was heard today the Fort Magistrate’s Court ruled that they be further remanded till September 18th. (Colombo Gazette) Former Prisons Commissioner Emil Ranjan and Inspector of Police (IP) Neomal Rangajeewa, who were arrested over the 2012 Welikada Prison riot, have been further remanded till September 18th.Emil Ranjan and Neomal Rangajeewa had been arrested over the 2012 Welikada Prison clashes in which several inmates were killed.

Deadline approaches for SMMT Innovation Award

Automotive innovators across the UK have just two weeks to finalise submissions for SMMT’s Award for Automotive Innovation 2012 that closes for new entries on 3 September 2012.Sponsored by GKN Driveline and supported by The Times, the Award is the Society’s stand-alone award that recognises innovations within UK automotive manufacturing, design and engineering, acknowledging ideas that have already benefitted, or have the potential to deliver, automotive excellence.“This Award recognises the exceptional strength of UK automotive innovation, design and engineering. We hope that by celebrating success and showcasing talent we can help fast track new ideas and business opportunities,” said SMMT Chief Executive, Paul Everitt. “There is no doubting the high calibre of automotive talent out there; the Award for Automotive Innovation 2012 calls for cutting-edge entries which demonstrate technical strength and ingenuity from across the UK sector.”A panel of leading industry experts, which includes Dave Salt, GKN Driveline Chief Engineer; Robert Lea, Industrial Editor, The Times; Paul Everitt, SMMT Chief Executive; Ian Downing, Director Business Growth Fund and Robert Llewellyn, broadcaster and automotive enthusiast, will judge this year’s Award, following presentations from the shortlisted entrants.Last year’s Award was presented to Jaguar Land Rover for its Range_e, a premium SUV plug-in hybrid electric vehicle delivering impressive fuel economy and considerable reductions in tailpipe emissions, while Gordon Murray Design scooped the 2010 Award for the iStream manufacturing process.Shortlisted entries receive industry recognition within one of the UK’s most diverse and exciting industries and the winner will be presented with the Award at SMMT’s 96th Annual Dinner on 27 November 2012 at Grosvenor House, Park Lane, in front of more than 1,000 senior industry executives.SMMT’s Award for Automotive Innovation 2012 is free to enter and for more information about the Award, entry criteria and last year’s winner, click here.Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window) read more